Testimonials: Neck Problems / Pain & Whiplash

The following testimonial(s) have written consent from the owners. Please contact the therapist (if stated) for more information.


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Stiff and painful neck

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have benefited from the professional, courteous and relaxing Bowen Therapy from Judith. Following three treatments, I have flexibility and mobility which is pain free and sleep much better.

Client: LN
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon
Ref: 10547–04-17


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in my neck and across my shoulders

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Playing golf and affecting my job

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

When I started B.T. I was sceptical. My wife was getting good results, so I gave it a go. The treatment is gentle as effective. I noticed an improvement after only one appointment and further sessions have proved beneficial. I recommend it to anyone who is interested.

Client: AB
Therapist: Jaqueline Bowen
Ref: 01660-11-16


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve in neck and general upper body tension

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Being able to turn my head to the right and minimising use of right arm.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

After 2 sessions the pain had gone. I had one more to be sure but I am completely back to normal

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My neck is completely healed and I no longer feel as tense in my shoulders. I am going to continue monthly.

Client: TH
Therapist: Tina Hutchings
Ref: 65202668


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve (neck)

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Felt like I had completely lost the use of my right arm and was in constant excruciating pain.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I am now pain free, full use of my arm again now just need to build strength. Also helped with some other pre-existing issues.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I am far more posture aware, the pain that I had been suffering for 6 weeks was dealt with. Years and years of IBS problems have stopped and so far not returned. Historic neck pain is slowly easing and I have booked another session. It is amazing!

Client: JB
Therapist: Kathryn Phillips
Ref: 64539268


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Stiff neck and back muscles

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

I was most uncomfortable and had very limited movement of head and shoulders. My posture was poor and my head swam

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I am now back to full fitness, and it is clear that some of my problems were of long standing.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The bowen therapy has restored 'the factory default settings' of my body, and given me very good advice about how to avoid a recurrence of my problems. I now feel younger and fitter.

Client: AT
Therapist: Kathryn Phillips
Ref: 58699205


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck pain leading to migraines & sleepless nights

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping, concentrating

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I have slept better, the pain is far less frequent, & therefore I've had fewer migraines.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I am more relaxed, with less muscle tension & the neck pain, instead of being an almost daily thing (I would wake up with it), has only materialised once or possibly twice a week. Consequently I have slept better & need less medication.

Client: PA
Therapist: Patrick Mower
Ref: 56864057


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Bad shoulder and neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping, carrying.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The Bowen therapy has resolved my neck and shoulder problem. I also had problems with my lower back for years which I mentioned when I was having treatment for my neck and shoulder. I consequently got treatment for my lower back which has also resolved all problems in that area. I would recommend this treatment.

Client: DS
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01546-05-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Loss of movement in neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Couldn’t turn my head very much, difficult when driving.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Easier now.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My neck is not so painful now and having treatment every six weeks or so keeps my neck much better.

Client: SW
Therapist: Jackie Stevens
Ref: 01538-06-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Dizzy spells and balance and neck and shoulder issues.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Moving as easily as I’m used to doing.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I’ve been able to do them fully. Sometimes need more than one treatment.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I’ve benefitted enormously. Am able to do all I want to in a day. Haven’t needed to see GP for medication or physio, dealt with in my time, no weeks of waiting.

Client: WB
Therapist: Susanne Webb
Ref: 01517-01-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain from knee trauma and back and neck ache/pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Any manual work for any length of time

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Some improvement in general physical ability.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

A much more relaxed upper body. My recover time after physical work is quicker and the swelling to my lower leg is fully recovered after a night’s sleep.

Client: GB
Therapist: Beth Darrall
Ref: 01516-05-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck spasms / reoccurring back problems

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Almost everything. I couldn’t sit, walk or stand up

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully 100%

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I would recommend Richie to anyone

Client: MR
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01507-02-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain from lower back, neck and shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restricted neck movement

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Have full movement in neck

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

After the first treatment there was a reduction in the pain, and now with having three I am feeling so much better. I am extremely happy with the outcome and will be recommending it to friends and work colleagues.

Client: BE
Therapist: Kate Fullerlove
Ref: 01493-3-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Extreme neck, back & hip pain, also pain in left foot.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Painful swallowing (neck), walking standing & exercising.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, fully & without pain.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Increased mobility, pain relief where surgery had failed to alleviate foot pain. Not taking pain relief on a daily basis. On an emotional level my energy levels have increased and I feel better able to deal with day to day stresses.

Client: MB
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01481-10-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Muscular pain in the neck & collarbone area

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving was difficult & movement generally

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially in the beginning – now fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

At the start felt quite low due to constant pain. After 3rd treatment pain had considerably subsided. After 4th treatment – pain and tightness practically gone and I feel so much more comfortable and happy.

Client: NP
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01480-12-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder pain. Plus general aches and pains from a stressful job as a teacher.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Neck and shoulder pain resolved. I now have regular Aromatherapy. My therapist Sue is so warming and makes me feel at ease. She has personalised my treatment depending on my aches and pain with a combination of Bowen and Aromatherapy.

Client: NW
Therapist: Sue Jaycot
Ref: 52448463


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve causing pain in neck, shoulder, and arm

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

At its worst, I couldn’t drive, lift or sit comfortably

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The pain in my arm, shoulder and neck has now completely gone. I am able to go about my everyday tasks now as normal. This was after having 3 sessions. I intend on having sessions every 3 months as a maintenance for my body

Client: SH
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon
Ref: 01470-7-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Long standing neck injury

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Some activities of daily living and some exercise

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes and Bowen has helped me manage the injury etc.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have accessed Bowen treatment several times over the past 15-20 years with excellent effect. When my symptoms subside I reduce or cease Bowen therapy but when I am suffering an exacerbation I access therapy up to weekly with excellent effect. Bowen therapy helps me to manage the effects of both longstanding and intermittent problems.

Client: JCG
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01461-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Painful neck and shoulder for approx 8 weeks

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restricted movement, hoovering/ironing etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes in small bursts

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I feel so much more relaxed and neck and shoulder are getting more movement. I can’t believe what a huge difference this has meant to me. Thank you Bowen and Maureen.

Client: GB
Therapist: Maureen Smith
Ref: 01436-12-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Whiplash, knee crunching etc.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Movement of neck, everyday things from pain

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Have been feeling so much better in general

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes!!! Could not recommend it highly enough. Feel so much better in general , went with whiplash pain, this has gone but I feel so much better. Since having Bowen Therapy, I will not think twice about going again.

Client: GF
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 011401-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Painful neck

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Exercise/work (Tennis coach). Sleeping well.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Found a great improvement after 1st visit, improvement still ongoing.

Client: PT
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01398-3-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arm, shoulder and neck pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Turning my head properly

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Almost back to normal

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

This was my first experience of Bowen Therapy. I was uncertain what to expect. The whole experience was soothing and reassuring. My pain started to resolve during the session and continued to do so for the next few days. I only needed 1 follow up session.

Client: HP
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01389-5-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Tension across shoulders and into neck – caused by stress

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

They didn’t prevent anything, just caused pain and tiredness.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I am extremely impressed by the Bowen Technique, after weeks of massage (elsewhere) which only slightly improved things, after only one visit I could see a vast improvement. I have had a further visit to the therapist and feel great. I do feel that maybe at sometime in the future I will visit her again as the symptoms still occur when I am very stressed, however only slightly.

Client: HA
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01386-6-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Upper neck and back pain going into my right arm.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Right arm – unable to lift or use without pain

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully mobile again after course of treatments.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Better posture, sleep pattern improved. Upper body straighter and no pain any more in my right arm and shoulder.

Client: KH
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh
Ref: 01356-10-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Poor leg and hip action on Left side plus neck tension and limited head movement.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

General wellbeing greatly improved as well as reduced neck tension and better mobility.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The treatment has worked well for me with much more free leg/hip movement, head movement and significantly improved neck tension. Highly recommended. Saw the Bowen Technique mentioned in a Julian Baker article in the SAGA magazine.

Client: HB
Therapist: Kathryn Phillips
Ref: 01355-2-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Persistent neck and shoulder pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Moving easily, sitting for long periods

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I can’t believe the change. Everything feels so much freer, so much easier to move. When I go out with friends, I can now sit and chat rather than have to leave after half an hour because it’s so uncomfortable

Client: KL
Therapist: Samantha (Sam) Roze
Ref: 01374-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and back problems (pain)

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Relaxing and generally enjoying life

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, life is more enjoyable.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My body feels more alive and flowing freely (unblocked).A bit like having a good spring clean

Client: VDLP
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01339-10-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder problem due to long standing building work

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Certain areas of work (Ceilings)

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, (Certain size ceilings)

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

As you are aware, my work has been building for many years. This accounts for many problems, i.e. carpal tunnel - frozen shoulder – worn joints. I have had massage, physiotherapy, and Cortisone injections, they have all worked and helped previously, as have the Bowen treatments.

Client: JF
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01336-10-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Full movement of arm, not sleeping well.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Overall improvement of neck and back pain.

Client: MLP
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01331-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck bones touching together hitting nerves, bulging of neck, pelvis out of line.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sitting, sleeping, training , housework etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially, I can sit, train and housework, only sleeping is problem with neck.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Greatly, a lot less pain and pins and needles down left arm has stopped. Bowen therapy has improved my life, pain has dramatically dropped. I am back training in gym.

Client: KL
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01329-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Whole right side causing problems. Arm and neck very painful .

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restricted movements i.e Housework, Gardening etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Movements much easier, - hardly painful now.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Returned energy levels to high. Eased pain and improved all movements. Very kind therapist – makes you feel relaxed and comfortable – takes time to explain about treatment and exercises. Wish I had found Bowen years ago.

Client: EG
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01318-02-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Rigid spine, stiff neck, much difficulty arising from dining chair, painful.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Having a pain-free life, dressing myself on occasion.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Spine, neck, shoulder much improved. Life back to normal.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, as is obvious from information above. A three-monthly top-up session is all that is now needed for me to be pain free and much more supple.

Client: SEW
Therapist: Susan Rook
Ref: 01308-02-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

I experienced problems with my neck and shoulders.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

I found it difficult to twist my head and experienced discomfort in my shoulders.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I’ve found a greater movement in both my neck and shoulders after the treatment.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I found the Bowen therapy treatment very beneficial to the overall well being of my body, especially my neck and shoulders, which improved greatly after one session. I had two treatments altogether and found that enough to relieve the discomfort I had been experiencing.

Client: VB
Therapist: Susan Rook
Ref: 01307-09-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Osteoarthritis in the neck

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Exercise

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My neck and back feels the best it has been for over 10 years.

Client: TS
Therapist: Enys Evans
Ref: 01297-05-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis in the neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Turning head left and right, also lifting head.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I’ve had much better use since treatment.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I’ve benefitted by having general use of mu neck and continue to do exercises that I was shown.  This has been very useful.

Client: GS
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01282-11-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Stiff and aching neck and shoulder.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Had trouble lifting my right arm and looking behind me.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Seems to have eased my pains and aches and can now turn my head easier.

Client: JP
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01274-10/13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in shoulder blade / neck pains.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing really. But painful.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Easier to work (Yes)

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, little pains sometimes, but much better.

Client: KB
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01273-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Desk work was painfull

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, the treatment released the tightness and burning

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, with the treatment and advice on exercises and position of key board/chair and posture.

Client: JE
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01272-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck stiffness

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping well, painting above my shoulder height

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Not yet

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Early days – only one treatment

Client: SD
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01271-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck, right shoulder, lower back and right hip – all due to car crash

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Living a normal life, walking, sitting, sleeping, everyday tasks i.e. ironing, hovering, hanging out washing, etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Waling and sitting are back to normal, the rest have improved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Prior to starting this treatment I was taking so many painkillers that I felt doped up all of the time and I was still in a significant amount of pain.  Now I’ve reduced my medication by 90% and I am almost pain free.  I have no pain in my neck, lower back, right shoulder and right hip most of the time and I feel that I am getting my life back.  If I feel I’m in pain I make another appointment.

Client: DS
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01249-05-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in my neck, shoulder and down my left arm.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Working, sleeping, painful to drive.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have benefited greatly from my Bowen treatment – the pain eased considerably following the first session and after my second treatment the pain got less each day until it lifted completely – I would highly recommend this treatment.

Client: JH
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01245-10-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Long term neck and shoulder pain. Numb hands.  General body pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping, driving distances comfortably.  Relaxing properly.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, much better.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have had physiotherapy, regularly visited a chiropractor for the last 4 years having only mild relief.  The Bowen Therapy I receive has given me the most relief and improved my sleeping which has made me feel all together better.  I wish I had known about it sooner.

Client: GS
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01233-08-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping and exercising

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My Bowen therapy was very relaxing and painless with very good results.

Client: WL
Therapist: Sally Mason
Ref: 01223-02-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve in neck/shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving, lifting, house work, gardening, social events.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Since treatment have been able to do everything prior to the problem.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Felt better after every treatment. Symptoms have now been resolved. Back normal.

Client: CT
Therapist: Mary Macfarlane
Ref: 01216-07-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain, tension in shoulders and neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restrictive movement or painful movement especially golfing.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully, able to play 3 or 4 times per week without discomfort.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have been pleasantly surprised at how the non-invasive, gentle and relaxing treatment can produce a great improvement to my physical and mental well-being. I feel more comfortable and relaxed. Tension in my upper back has disappeared.

Client: DM
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01214-05-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck, shoulder and leg

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping and swimming

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Each time I have been it has been very successful and well explained to me.

Client: RG
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01212-02-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve in neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Using my right arm and hand; Turning my head.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Full use had been resumed.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I found it immensely relaxing and soothing. I was rather sceptical, but the results are vey positive. The only thing not helped was the tingling/numbness in my right thumb. However, the grip in my right hand is vastly improved.

Client: CP
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01194


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping, turning head.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes – Sleep returned to normal and neck/shoulder pain reduced and mobility improved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The main purpose of seeking treatment was to relieve my painful, stiff neck and shoulder blade. The pain had almost completely gone after a couple of treatments, mobility increased and I had no need for painkillers or heat pads. Incidentally, Bowen therapy also cleared my headaches caused by sinusitis and hs helped reduce the symptoms of PMT. I am really pleased (and surprised) by the results of the Bowen therapy, and have recommended it to others.

Client: AD
Therapist: Kim Holmes
Ref: 01193-04-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Cervical Dystonia

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

This is a chronic disorder that makes day to day living more difficult.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Attendance at work significantly improved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I came to Bowen by chance whilst looking for something to supplement the (as yet ineffective) treatment provided by the NHS. My aim was to find a therapy that would help to relay/protect the muscles in the neck, shoulders and upper back that were being put under significant strain by the Dystonia. Bowen is succeeding in this, but also improving my general wellbeing and I am finding I can cope with the symptoms.

Client: SH
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh
Ref: 01185-2-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Many. Continuous cold and cough. Pain around operation scar. Neck/shoulder pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing, just continuously aware of discomfort.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Bowen has helped to ease the problems, fully resolving some i.e. operation pain and cold and cough.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen therapy from Simone helped me greatly in understanding my symptoms, enabling me to get back to normal life. Also, by recommending further holistic therapies.

Client: Alison
Therapist: Simone Guest
Ref: 01182-03-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

A painful 'crick' in the neck

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restricted movement greatly affecting sleeping and driving etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

A full range of movement, virtually pain free.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

In addition to the above, I have a general sense of well-being. Other parts of my body, and some milder ailments, have shown improvement. In effect, I feel re-balanced.

Client: JT
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01172-05-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck injury caused pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Now free of pain

Client: ESC
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01168-07-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and back problems

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Turning my neck to different sides hurts, headaches

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I am able to turn my head to different sides without pain

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I had suffered a fall and injured my neck, for months I was unable to move my neck without severe pain and I suffered severe headaches. I felt immediate relief after the first session of Bowen and after subsequent sessions I was able to move to move my neck in most directions without much pain and the headaches vanished.

Client: AW
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01151-11-11


Neck pain and pain in jaw on yawning and eating

I have benefited from Bowen Treatment and would consider using it again in the future if needed.

Client: CS
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01120-07-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck pain and pain in jaw on yawning and eating.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Looking over shoulder when driving and pain during daily activities.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Neck pain has been considerably reduced and jaw pain has been fully resolved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have benefited from Bowen Treatment and would consider using it again in the future if needed.

Client: CS
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01120-07-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and hip pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Hip – Walking properly, sleeping on right hand side. Neck – Unable to move freely.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes - Definitely

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen has helped relieve the pain almost completely in my hip. Also neck pain and stiffness much better - now able to move head around to both sides further! Less headaches

Client: RN
Therapist: Sue Kerr
Ref: 01127-06-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Bad back, neck problems, facial numbness.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Bending, sleeping comfortably, (back of head) headaches.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Back no problem as long as occasional treatment given. Head not a problem, no headaches.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I feel that I walk straighter. Far less tension in neck. Sideways movements feel much easier and garden without worrying about my back.

Client: WT
Therapist: Lindsay Hanson
Ref: 01145-06-11


Chronic neck and lower back pain

I have been aware of Bowen for many years but it was not until I met Catherine that I actually experienced it. I am a massage therapist and have had many, many different kinds of treatments over the 27 years I have been working. Bowen was totally different, very simple and very effective.

At first it was odd that Catherine only seemed to do a very small technique on me and then leave the room, to return a few minutes later to do another small technique. This process goes on for the full hour. What I came to realize and very much appreciate was that the healing happens in my own body when the therapist is not in the room - unlike any other treatment I have received. Once I got used to this idea I totally loved it. Something very profound happens and my body is able to correct, balance and heal in the way it needs to. It is unbelievably relaxing – so deep as to feel like coming home, like having had 10 hours sleep, like feeling totally supported and held in a way that is perfect just for me.

I came to Catherine with chronic neck and lower back pain. Within three session the neck pain has totally gone and my lower back pain (which I have had for 30 odd years) very rarely troubles me now. I would highly recommend Catherine and Bowen to anyone with pain or exhaustion.

Therapist: Catherine Ford
Ref: 00400, Feb 2011


Whiplash

Sue had whiplash 20 years earlier, which resulted in a whole array of severe musculo-skeletal symptoms including an impacted neck, thoracic kyphosis and scoliosis, frozen shoulder, pelvic imbalance and associative problems and pains from there down. This is Sue’s testimonial.

I came to see Stephen Blackwood, a Registered Bowen Therapist working from a clinic in my local Pharmacy, after 25 years of various treatments [including physiotherapy, osteopathy, chiropractic, acupuncture and cortico-steroid injections] on my neck, lumbar region and for a more recent 3 years shoulder pains, causing restricted movement, plus arthritic knees and thumbs. Sleep was also very poor.

After my first session of Bowen, my neck felt freer, sleep improved and I felt extremely optimistic about the treatment with regard to my other concerns. Three Bowen treatments later, at weekly intervals, I had greater range of movement in my shoulder and arm, my hips and buttocks were much less painful and not as stiff, with much more movement. I could walk and sit for much longer. My legs and knees were more relaxed and actually pain free and my thumbs were greatly improved.

For years I’ve been plodding, but now, and not since my sporting days, have I felt the connection of the muscles and them working, as I now can again. Of all the treatments I have tried, I have found Bowen by far, to be the most effective and immediate. I have weekly Bowen sessions and continue to be amazed at how it benefits me. I am so glad I discovered it and inexpressibly happy because of it. Concerning my health, I now feel the sky's the limit.

Client: Sue P. (aged 57)
Therapist: Stephen Blackwood


Whiplash, knee pain

The pain in my brain had programmed itself to brace for with every movement I made. Since a whiplash injury in 1995 and a severe knock to my right knee in 2003 has disappeared just after three treatments. I am now able to cope with life and have already developed an optimistic view of the future. If it weren’t for Austin, my husband and I would have thrown away a foundation to successfully build upon that has taken us 18 years of endurance.

Client: Mrs M
Therapist: Austin-Burn Jones
Ref: 00411, Feb 2011


Neck and shoulder problems

I had suffered with neck and shoulder problems for a year or so after a fall, this was exacerbated recently subsequent to my sitting immobile for a long period whilst undergoing a stem cell donation procedure. Recommended by my son in law, I underwent a series of Bowen treatments by Penny Gibbings. In total I had five sessions and after a noticeable improvement from the first session my symptoms then gradually further improved. I now have significantly more and pain free movement in both neck and shoulder. This has helped me generally day to day and certainly when driving.

Client: RW
Therapist: Penny Gibbings
Ref: 00436, Feb. 2011


Pain and limited mobility

I had long standing pain and limited mobility in my right shoulder and neck, which had just been worsened by pulling the muscle in this area. Although I had had the long term pain and frustration with limited mobility and postural alignment during my yoga practice, it was the increased discomfort that led me to seek treatment. After the first treatment I had greater mobility and the pain returned to its usual level. After the next two treatments I noticed much more mobility and a positive change in my posture. I found that this continued to improve after the treatment.

Client: LA
Therapist: Yatro MacKay
Ref: 00448, Feb. 2011


Whiplash injuries testimonial

Sue had whiplash 20 years earlier, which resulted in a whole array of severe musculo-skeletal symptoms including an impacted neck, thoracic kyphosis and scoliosis, frozen shoulder, pelvic imbalance and associative problems and pains from there down. This is Sue’s testimonial.

I came to see Stephen Blackwood, a Registered Bowen Therapist working from a clinic in my local Pharmacy, after 25 years of various treatments [including physiotherapy, osteopathy, chiropractic, acupuncture and cortico-steroid injections] on my neck, lumbar region and for a more recent 3 years shoulder pains, causing restricted movement, plus arthritic knees and thumbs. Sleep was also very poor.

After my first session of Bowen, my neck felt freer, sleep improved and I felt extremely optimistic about the treatment with regard to my other concerns.

Three Bowen treatments later, at weekly intervals, I had greater range of movement in my shoulder and arm, my hips and buttocks were much less painful and not as stiff, with much more movement.

I could walk and sit for much longer. My legs and knees were more relaxed and actually pain free and my thumbs were greatly improved.

For years I’ve been plodding, but now, and not since my sporting days, have I felt the connection of the muscles and them working, as I now can again.
Of all the treatments I have tried, I have found Bowen by far, to be the most effective and immediate.

I have weekly Bowen sessions and continue to be amazed at how it benefits me.

I am so glad I discovered it and inexpressibly happy because of it.

Concerning my health, I now feel the sky's the limit.

Client: Sue P, aged 57
Therapist: Stephen Blackwood
Ref: T20


Neck Problems

I had suffered with neck and shoulder problems for a year or so after a fall; this was exacerbated recently subsequent to my sitting immobile for a long period whilst undergoing a stem cell donation procedure. Recommended by my son-in-law, I underwent a series of Bowen treatments by Penny Gibbings. In total I had five sessions and after a noticeable improvement from the first session my symptoms gradually further improved. I now have significantly more and pain free movement in both neck and shoulder. This has helped me generally day to day and certainly when driving.

Client: RW
Therapist: Penny Gibbings
Ref: 01064, Feb 2011


I initially went to see Judith because I had terrible neck pain that was not alleviated by prescription painkillers or physiotherapy. Judith recommended the Bowen and within a fortnight I was pain free and my tension headaches gone. I continued to have Bowen on a monthly basis until I went to Africa to work, 6 months without the Bowen and I noticed it. I am now back to having regular sessions. This will continue for mind and body.

Client: JT
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01065, Feb 2011


When I was 7 years old I landed badly on my neck. It had never been the same since – always stiff and slightly painful. I was recommended to go and get treatment and went to see Jenny Walker 3 years ago. After 2 or 3 treatments my neck was 100% and since then she has treated several sports injuries received. I still go to see Jenny every 3 months just for an overhaul of my body.

Client: DW
Therapist: Jenny Walker
Ref: 01066, Feb 2011


I underwent a serious operation to my neck which involved removing two discs and replacing them with bone grafts. I have absolutely no doubt that the Bowen treatment I received, both in preparation and immediately following the operation, restored me to normal functioning much more quickly than I or the surgeon expected. I was discharged from hospital some days earlier than they normally allow. My recovery progressed at a rate that the surgeon remarked was most unusual. I had very much less pain than is normal with this operation.

I broke my ankle and again opted for Bowen treatment. The pain reduction and the rapid restoration of full movement once more exceeded my expectations. I can run again!

Client: SD
Therapist: Jen Walker
Ref: 01067, Feb 2011


I had some Bowen treatment for neck and shoulder pain which I had had for a couple of months. I was moving so had to lift heavy things. I also had knee pain. I was having trouble sleeping. After 3 Bowen treatments, I had recovered from all the above. I feel much more peaceful now and my sleeping pattern is much better.

Client: NL
Therapist: Joanna Austen
Ref: 01068, Feb 2011


I have benefitted three times form Bowen therapy over about three years. My first visit to my therapist was for tiredness and energy loss which took three visits to cure. A couple of years later I had a painful shoulder and recently extreme discomfort in my neck which resulted in headaches. These both took two visits. No recurrence of any of these problems and all without drugs. Perfect.

Client: SF
Therapist: Jen Walker
Ref: 01069, Feb 2011


I have had a problem with a painful neck and other minor aches and pains for many years. I am mildly affected by Cerebral Palsy (since birth). Since attending the Bowen Clinic the pain has gone completely. I attend on a regular basis (monthly) but the need to attend has gradually reduced.

Client: LP
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01070, Feb 2011


I experienced stiffness and pain in my neck and was recommended to Bowen Therapy by a friend who had similar though more severe problems. Having tried other remedies she told me that Bowen cured her problem. Following her advice I had two or three appointments with Janet who obtained immediate relief. I had a reoccurrence some months later and again a few appointments resulted in alleviation of the problem.

Client: JR
Therapist: Janet Barry
Ref: 01072, Feb 2011


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I first had a taster session at a Synergy Fair at Saltburn. Which I thought was good. It helped my aches and pains from my whiplash. Then I had a fall and I got in touch with Judith again as I was having quite a bit of pain in my back legs and neck. I find going for my treatment very relaxing and if I have any aches or pains, Judith always seems to get rid of them for me. A very nice lady.

Client: MH
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01654-02-11


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I visited Janie for help with severe shoulder and neck pain which I had had for several months. The pain began to ease after the first visit. I had several more sessions of Bowen and now my neck and shoulders are free moving and I am without pain.

I also consulted Janie about a very long term (over 30 years) sinus and rhinitis problem. I have had a series of Bowen treatments where Janie concentrated on my sinuses. The treatments began slowly but after 4 or 5 sessions improvement was more rapid. I am now able to go out without my pockets full of tissues!

Client: PO’G
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01601-03-11


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

After a few weeks of physio and taking painkillers plus anti-inflammatories, my trapped nerve in my neck had not improved. I had pain down my left arm and in my shoulder blade and my index finger was numb. Being a busy, self-employed farmer, this prevented me from working normally or sleeping properly. I thought I had to try something different so, with some scepticism, I started the Bowen treatment with Janie.

The first session was amazing as the pin reduced by about 70% next day. As the week went on the symptoms came gradually back, but not as bad as before. This continued to improve with each session I had. I could reduce my painkillers down to zero and sleep better too. I am not 100% yet but am well on the way and being able to resume my work.

I would recommend the Bowen Treatment as I am convinced it helped me through this difficult and frustrating time.

Client: DN
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01605-