Testimonials: Sciatica

The following testimonial(s) have written consent from the owners. Please contact the therapist (if stated) for more information.


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Severe sciatica.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Pretty much everything.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Completely back to my normal self after several treatments.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have suffered from sciatica several times in the past and have been left to just get on with it and it has taken a very long time. This year, 2017, I was in severe pain and was encouraged to try Bowen. After my first session there was instant relief although it took several sessions for me to totally recover. I now go to Bowen regularly.

Client: KR
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01667


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Move about or sit comfortably, which made sleeping very difficult

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Resumed full mobility after treatment.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Initially Bowen cured my sciatica whereas conventional medical treatment made no difference at all. Thereafter I found that a Bowen top up treatment every two month has been most beneficial to my overall health and wellbeing. I also wish to thank Tony Crimes for his expertise, patience and understanding and I thoroughly enjoyed our little chats prior to each session which always put me at ease.

Client: RD
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 10590-08-16


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking properly and constant pain down left leg

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The back pain has gone enabling me to walk much easier and the nerve pain down the leg has receded

Client: MR
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon
Ref: 10571-04-16


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back spasms and sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, general things

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Very helpful, relaxing and giving me my life back.

Client: SW
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 10555-02-17


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Affect everything I did. Constant Pain, unable to sleep or get comfortable sitting or driving

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I have been able to resume my usual routines.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

It was a lovely calm experience which produced a wonderful pain free outcome.

Client: SA
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon
Ref: 10458-05-17


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

I have suffered from sciatica for quite a few years now.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

It prevented me from walking long distances and would give me aches and pains while working.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I can walk further than I used to and it doesn't give me as much grief at work. I seem to sleep better which makes me feel better through the day.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I suffered painful legs due to sciatica. Since receiveing Bowen I have been able walk further and more freely. For a short while I actually felt like I was about 30 years younger such was the buzz it gave me. The pain has not gone completely but it is more bearable and is only there briefly whereas it used to be constant and get me down. I actually feel much better in myself.

Client: TO
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon
Ref 57267711


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Very painful, limping while walking.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

After suffering sciatica on and off for many years, I have had no episode for 5 months since I started Bowen.

Client: VB
Therapist: Jacky Stevens
Ref: 01540-02-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica – left leg, long-term back damage, arthritis

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping! Restricted all activities.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I can now sleep on left side with no problem! Able to garden and walk.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The sciatica eased after first treatment. Now no longer a problem, ongoing treatments eased all areas of pain and continue to do so. The treatment is very gentle and leaves me with a general feeling of wellbeing.

Client: HO
Therapist: Jacky Stevens
Ref: 01539-05-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica (lower back pain, plus pain down right leg

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, Sleeping, Sitting, Having a glass of wine! Enjoying xmas

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Very good treatment, I also went to the doctor 5 times because of the ain and was on 12 tablets a day. After about 6/7 weeks the pain started to ease. I would go back to Richie again if I had any problems.

Client: JT
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01498-02-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Prolapsed disc causing acute sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, dressing, work

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The therapist recommended 3 treatments to feel the benefit form the treatment. I felt the most improvement after the second treatment. My movement was less restricted and I was able to sleep through the night. The therapist was excellent, explaining the procedure and what I should expect afterwards. After the third treatment I reduced the amount of pain relief medication I was taking. I have seen a 90% improvement in my condition.

Client: SC
Therapist: Judith Kilgallon
Ref: 01496-02-15


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

This succeeded in reducing shoulder & back pin when steroid injections from a rheumatologist, osteopathy & physiotherapy had all had only limited success. Also, after decades of sciatica, have finally found relief by have a tight muscle released. Also, provided excellent relief for sinus pain and blocked eustachian tubes. Thank you.

Client: KH
Therapist: Jo Austin
Ref: 01485-10-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back pain and sciatica. Restrictive movement in my neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking the dog was uncomfortable and driving was difficult.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The sciatica has settled down and driving is easier especially as I am able to turn my head to check over my shoulder. Generally I felt less stiff and had more energy.

Client: JM
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01468-1-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Tennis/long walks/Bellringing/General activity

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Feel better first thing in the morning. The treatments have been very good, helped me to focus and feel the benefit of treatment without medication. Helped me to understand how and what is causing me pain.

Client: JC
Therapist: Ros Harrington
Ref: 01458-10-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Climbing stairs and walking – always in pain

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes. Everything is back to normal

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Life is now back to normal and without any pain or discomfort. Feel much better in myself now. Claire makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. Best thing I ever did calling Claire and having Bowen.

Client: JC
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01456-1-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain and sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

It was painful to walk, sit, stand for any length of time, sleeping very difficult

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I cannot recommend the treatment highly enough. After two sessions the pain had gone completely. Even after the first one (although actually the symptoms took a while to improve), I felt so much more positive mentally. Anyone who suffers from a bad back will know it gets you down after a while! I tell everyone about the Bowen Therapy and how much it has helped me.

Client: KE
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01444-2-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Climbing stairs and walking, always in pain

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, everything back to normal

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Life is now back to normal and without any pain or discomfort. Feel much better in myself now. Claire makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. Best thing ever did calling Claire and having Bowen.

Client: JC
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01445-1-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Constant pain, restricted normal movement, standing, sitting down, gardening etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Resumed normal movement without pain, no further problems

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Medical treatment via my GP proved fruitless, no proper diagnosis and only offered physio treatment at some indeterminate future date. Within 2 weeks of starting Bowen Therapy and carrying out the recommended exercises my sciatica has gone completely, no pain, and I am now able to move freely ensuring a normal life. I would recommend Bowen Therapy to anyone, and have already done so.

Client: RD
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01453-9-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lumbar Back Pain and Sciatica Pain down right leg

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Makes movement such as walking, bending etc. painful and difficult

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Bowen Treatment has re-levelled my pelvis and relieves a lot of the discomfort for a while

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The improvement in my stance has been great and this in itself eases the back spasms and pain.. It has given me confidence to walk further before resorting to sitting down.

Client: ST
Therapist:
Ref: 01478-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Suffering from sciatica for two years, then a broken hip from a fall

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Bending down, struggling to do any housework or gardening, not able to sit without pain.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Able to do most tasks.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I am now without pain. I can bend, I am walking more confidently. I now find myself doing things and then realise I haven’t been able to do them since the sciatica started.

Client: JH
Therapist: Caroline Lison
Ref: 01428-11-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain + sciatica down right leg – very painful.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving any distance, sitting for long period, especially in car – and sleeping.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

In a lot less pain, sleeping much better, driving for longer distances.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Having never heard of Bowen, I said “I’d try anything” to try to avoid injections into my spine by epidural, which I have since postponed and maybe hope to cancel if I continue to improve and have no pain or “liveable pain”. Have had 8 treatments so far.

Client: SH
Therapist: Caroline Lison
Ref: 01425-11-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Severe sciatic pain and muscular pain in lower back, buttocks and hamstrings

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Practically everything, but specifically standing up, walking and lying down on bed.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I had treatments over several months, noticing some improvement after each one. When I went for the first one, I was dependent on a Zimmer frame at home and crutches when I went out. At the clinic, I went up the stairs on all fours and Kim carried the crutches. I graduated to walking sticks which eventually I was able to discard. At the conclusion of treatment, I was able to walk short distances unaided, including stairs which demonstrated a big improvement.
I would recommend Kim and Bowen to anyone. It’s amazing how effective such a gentle therapy can be.

Client: PAD
Therapist: Kim Holmes
Ref: 01411-9-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Bad back and sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Any kind of fitness and walking any great distance comfortably.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, - started brisk walking again with the aim of increasing to full walking again.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have benefitted immensely, especially after just 1 session. It was amazing. For a 57 year old woman I felt 87 and now have my fitness and positive attitude back towards tackling anything. Prior to my treatment I wouldn’t have put myself forward for doing anything as I didn’t know if my back would let me down.

Client: SW
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01400-1-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica, pain in left buttock and down left leg to ankle

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking – sitting for long periods, gardening and daily chores.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Been able to resume walking and household tasks and continue to do so more as time passes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen treatment was painless, relaxing in comforting surroundings, following treatment I have reduced by half (and sometimes more) my analgesics. Sleeping is back normal. Post therapy instructions clear and easy to follow.

Client: SC
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01399-1-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Bending down etc, Picking things up.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully recovered

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Walking, bending, lifting has all improved tremendously – treatment was relaxing and very beneficial.

Client: LJ
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01392-4-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pinched sciatic nerve in right buttock

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

One treatment was sufficient as I received it soon after the first symptoms occurred which was beneficial to early recovery

Client: CS
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01382-11-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Protruding lumbar disc pressing on sciatic nerve, intense pain in hip area and thigh.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, generally moving about.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Can now walk about 2 miles without pain and do lots of general activities.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My therapist has spent time understanding all the parts of the problem and how they evolve and has tailored my treatment accordingly. I am feeling better as a whole, not just the lower back and thigh areas which were so painful. I am so glad that I explored this avenue instead of surgery.

Client: AT
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01368-9-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatic pain in leg, cramps and pins and needles. Tight in shoulders continual pain when walking, took regular painkillers.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, stopped exercise, tired.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially, - walking more, in no pain, more flexible, more energy, stopped painkillers.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

More energy, more positive. Less invasive treatment than other treatments. Like the gentle nature of Bowen.

Client: HM
Therapist: Susanne Webb
Ref: 01363-7-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica on left hand side caused by cramped seats!

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Caused pain and impeded bending.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Less pain but still some present.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Very relaxing experience from a practitioner with “healing” hands. Good but simple exercises.

Client: JMB
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01338-10-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I had some relief but not consistent

Client: BH
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01333-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica and one leg longer than the other ¼ inch.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sciatica was painful and unable to wear normal shoes (always build-ups)

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was diagnosed with one leg longer than the other 30 yr’s ago and have had my shoes built up since then. After a few treatments my sciatica was cured. Janet did the pelvic procedures during a normal Bowen treatment after seven treatments we’ve measured my legs and the difference had gone. I no longer have to have my have my shoes built up and I can wear trainers and wedges which I had never been able to wear before.

Client: MS
Therapist: Janet Savage
Ref: 01343-11-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis (right knee), back pain, sciatica

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was walking with an uneven gait because of arthritis in my right knee.  The caused me to suffer from back pain and sciatica.  As I didn’t want to have a knee replacement until retirement I tried Bowen treatment and found that 2 or 3 sessions kept me pain free for up to a year and allowed me keep working.

Client: JC
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence
Ref: 01257-02-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica, through a slipped disc many years ago.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking and general mobility

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, totally

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I had 3 Bowen treatments and am now fully recovered and very mobile and have been so ever since the treatment 3 years ago.

Client: DG
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01235-07-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatic Pain and General muscular pains, especially in the thighs.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Anything involving leg movement – plus sitting and standing was painful.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Since Bowen treatment all movements are much easier and less painful.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Before Bowen treatment I was in constant pain. All other therapies I had tried lasted for a few days and then the pain returned. Sitting standing, lying down and walking were all painful. After Bowen treatment the pain gradually began to ease to the extent that after a few sessions I was able to space out the treatments. The pain has now eased so much that on some days I can hardly believe that I am pain free! I don’t understand how Bowen works – but it does!

Client: PB
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01222-05-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Originally sciatica, since menopause, neck and leg pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Work, rest and play

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Sciatica almost gone – so, Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen has given me pain relief and hope of a life without constant pain. I have regained lost energy, enthusiasm and optimism. More recently problems with painful and flooding periods have been brought back to normal.

Client: SC
Therapist: Hillary Legard
Ref: 01198


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve sacro-iliac area, very painful

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Standing upright and walking properly.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Relief and mobility was almost instantaneous. I have since been having successful treatment for a variety of ailments.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have had muscular-skeletal problems intermittently for more than 4 yrs and have tried a variety of therapies whenever I have “stiffened up”, including NHS physiotherapy. I worked as an SRN SCM in hospital around the country, mostly with the elderly in firm before modern lifting equipment became available, my job was very “hands on”, manual lifting was part and parcel of the job. I’ve also been an active person (gym & swim) and never let my disabilities stop me from working. Just wish Bowen treatment had been available when I first started with muscular-skeletal troubles.

Client: MH
Therapist: Kim Holmes
Ref: 01177-08-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in lower back, hip and pins and needles down leg.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Playing golf, swimming, gardening, walking dogs, sleeping.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I am able to resume all activities but carefully and slowly.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I went in desperation for treatment as I was in a lot of unresolved pain and I didn’t want to restart strong painkillers etc. I am absolutely thrilled that after only two sessions most of the pain has gone. It was a peaceful yet exhilarating experience. I would have no hesitation in having further treatment and will recommend it to anyone in similar circumstances.

Client: HW
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01174-05-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Severe back problems mainly resulting in sciatica.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

I wasn’t able to live life normally e.g. bend, walk, and sleep without pain.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

After I was treated I was again able to do the above normal things.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

On one occasion when I had Bowen treatment for sciatica, after a fall, I was helped enormously. I had been in despair because when I went to the doctor he said that the only thing he could suggest was painkillers. I though “I’ve got this forever”. Anyway after having three treatments from Erica Moss in Oswestry I was gradually able to walk 3-4 miles. It was wonderful to be able to do all th things I used to be able to do before the accident.

Client: GM
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01162-10-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in lower Buttock

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Prevented me from lifting and playing golf

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Have been able to resume these activities fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Since having the Bowen treatment, I have been able to resume all activities, with no pain

Client: JB
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01149-11-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis, bad fall on road resulting in sciatica and bad back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

A lot of my daily task difficult.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Some tasks partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Mobility improved, pain somewhat easier, not going to go away at my age, but with the help and kindness I get from my Bowen therapist I cope.

Client: MM
Therapist: Alison Cowley
Ref: 01123-08-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Symptoms described by GP as Sciatica from left Buttock to left calf

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restricted movement using left hip and leg i.e. Standing on left leg alone

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The sciatica appears to have gone 99% off the hip, occasional twinges in exertion of the left leg in difficult position i.e. in Yoga. The burning sensation in my left calf has gone – this gave a lot of pain whilst driving – using the clutch. Overall- I feel 99% normal again with regards to the sciatica pain and restrictions.

Client: WI
Therapist: Cheryl Cunningham
Ref: 01117-06-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Spinal injury. Sciatic nerve

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Impaired my mobility, prevented me form living a reasonable active life.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The Bowen Therapy amends treatment to my current needs, which allows me to enjoy a mor normal active live.

Client: JW
Therapist: Catherine Skelton
Ref: 01121-5-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain. Sciatica. Asthma

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Strenuous exercise.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Have been able to increase exercise tolerance.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I found the experience relaxing although lying on a couch increases the stiffness in my back immediately after treatment. It did however get rid of the sciatic pain I had been suffering with for several months. Also since having Bowen therapy I have not required my inhaler which I used for Asthma and only required my ventolin inhaler occasionally.

Client: LN
Therapist: Sue Mason
Ref: 01136-05-11


I am a 44 yr old female who has had horses for the last 20+ years. I have had lower back problems for about the last 12 years and neck problems for 4 to 5 years previous to this.

I first experienced sciatic pain in 2005 and was referred to the countess of Chester to see the consultant and have an MRI scan, this showed compression of the vertebrae causing the sciatic nerve to be trapped. This lasted a total of 24 weeks before the pain started to ease during this time I was taking a vast amount of tramadol pain killers just to get through the day.

In 2008 the pain came back even worse this time, once more I was referred to the countess of Chester hospital, where I had another MRI scan. This showed severe nerve damage caused by compressed vertebrae it was decided that I would have surgery to release and try to repair the nerve and to shave of some of the bone which was causing the nerve to become trapped. This went ahead in July 2009 an hour before my op the surgeon dropped the chance of success from 85% to 65% after a further study of the scan. After 3 months recovery all seemed to be going well and I returned to work and riding in the October 2009. All seemed fine until the end of January 2010 when I woke in the middle of the night in more pain than I had ever felt. I went to see my GP who immediately referred me back to the countess of Chester and gave me back all my pain killers and more. At this point I was taking 8 tramadol, 8 paracetomol, 3 gabapentin, 2 naproxen and an anti sickness tablet daily.

I had yet another MRI scan at this point I decided to try Bowen therapy. I had experienced Bowen with one of my horses.

My first session an amazing experience and I remember thinking well if it doesn’t work at least it has sent me somewhere wonderful for 40 mins. After my first session I felt tired and just needed to sleep. I had weekly sessions which lasted approx 40 mins each and it was amazing after the first 3 sessions I was down to half a tablet a day. 3 weeks after my Bowen started I had to go and see the consultant for my MRI results, he couldn’t believe how good I felt and how I had no major pain. He discharged me telling me to continue doing what I was doing. I avoided more surgery.

He did acknowledge that Bowen therapy was one of the therapies which often helped back problems.

I had regular Bowen until Oct 2010 all has been great I have had the odd twinge and I’m not completely pain free but I have the same level of pain that I had on 22 tablets a day, I feel better about myself, I’m able to do more active tasks and I’m in full control of my brain which I wasn’t when on the tablets.

I also suffered mild I.B.S, period pain carpal tunnel and sinus trouble all of these have been helped by Bowen.

Client: JW
Therapist: Claire Harrison
Ref: 00432, Feb. 2011


In 2007 I woke one morning to the most excruciating pain in my left leg. My GP and A & E at the hospital prescribed strong painkillers but they barely touched the pain so eventually my GP prescribed morphine. This was helpful short term but unpleasant side effects make me seek help from the Natural Health Centre at Totnes were Bowen Therapy was recommended.

My first session reduced the pain and my need for vast amounts of painkillers.

Subsequent sessions removed my need to walk with a stick and eventually I was off the painkillers completely. The sharp, painful twinges in my left leg had turned to numbness and eventually that vanished too.

Client C
Therapist: Yatro Mackay
Ref: 00450, Feb 2011


I first came to see Austin Burn-Jones about a year ago because I was in pain with sciatica that I had had for several months. The GP didn’t seem to be able to offer me much help. I should also explain that I have a double curvature of the spine (scoliosis). I have had this most of my life, I am now almost 75!

At first I had treatment every two weeks, then the time between visits was gradually extended. At the moment I see him about every six weeks.

His treatment has certainly made a difference. The sciatica has gone completely. I am standing up straighter and also I can now lie flat on my back. No way could I do this before Austin’s work on my back!

Client: Mrs B
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones
Ref: 00408, Feb 2011


I had lower back pain and sciatica causing me distress and a great deal of pain. The first treatment I had eased my pain and I was amazed that such a gentle technique had such dramatic results.

Client: DG
Therapist: Donal Campbell
Ref: 01013


I had a trapped sciatic nerve for about 4 months before being recommended to the Bowen treatment. Previously I had physiotherapy, chiropractic and acupuncture treatment with no benefit. First session with Judith, pain eased. 4 weeks later I had no pain. Will be returning for regular session to keep healthy.

Client: EB
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01075, Feb 2011


I first booked an appointment with Judith in order to try to sort out my severe back pain and sciatica. After about six treatments and nine months later I feel 75% better.

Client: MS
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01076, Feb 2011


I was recommended to try the Bowen treatment when I developed sciatica which was extremely painful. After a number of sessions the relief was remarkable. Since then I suffered muscle pain in my right arm, so I decided to try the Bowen treatment again. This was also successful and I would recommend this treatment to anybody, which I have on a number of occasions.

Client: RP
Therapist: Lindsay Evans
Ref: 01077, Feb 2011


I have suffered with severe sciatica for the past two years. My GP recommended surgery and drugs. A friend recommended Jo and the Bowen Technique. I have now had three sessions and the relief has been amazing. On a scale of 1-10 where 10 is severe, I have improved from a 9 to a 4. I am hoping that with a few more sessions I will be well enough not to need any surgery. I cannot recommend Jo and her technique enough – absolutely amazing results in such a short time.

Client: NH
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01078-02-11


I suffered with sciatica for several months for which my doctor recommended 'pain-killers'. However, I sought help from the Bowen therapist, and after 4 or 5 sessions the pain disappeared. There was a recurrence some time later and I recalled Mrs Mason (therapist) and after 2 or 3 further sessions I was once again clear and have had no further trouble.

Client: ML
Therapist: Susan Mason
Ref: 01079-02-11


Just over two years ago I started having Bowen treatment as at the time I had sciatica. This was very painful and it made it difficult for me to walk, to socialise and generally enjoy going out. The symptoms seemed to go on for months. My doctor could only offer pain killers. I also tried a TENS machine. For about 30 years I have also had lower back problems – during this time I have been treated by Physio, Chiropractors and Osteopaths. I also tried these with this period of sciatica with no effect. A friend in North London who had severe back problems improved with Bowen Treatment and told me to find a local Bowen therapist. After a few treatments my sciatica was gone. I now have treatment every 5/6 weeks and my back problems have been kept under control. I have never had such a long period with freedom from back problems.

Client: AP
Therapist: Janet Savage
Ref: 01080-02-11


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I started suffering from severe back and hip pain (later diagnosed by my doctor following a scan at the RUH Bath, as being chronic sciatica) around just under 11/2 years ago. As the pain intensified to such an extent that I couldn’t cope with a normal life anymore, and after several trips to the doctor where I was prescribed various “painkillers”, I came to the conclusion that nothing was really helping my condition – the drugs were merely alleviating the pain temporarily. At this point my neighbour recommended that I pay a visit to Janie Godfrey who practises the Bowen Technique. I admit I was sceptical at first, as I come from a long line of doctors in my family, and tend to “go by the book”. After about 3 trips to see Janie however, my symptoms definitely improved. Several trips later and the difference was enormous. I am now able to hike (and even ski!) again and have huge faith in Janie and this technique. I still return to her as the treatment is so soothing and relaxing. Put simply, I have my life back again.

Client: RG
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01651-03-11


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

About 25 years ago I suffered 2 slipped discs and was fitted with a corset and treated by a physiotherapist. My discs would dislodge about six times per year causing me great pain and necessitating bed rest.

I started to have Bowen Therapy about 5 years ago and now my discs seldom dislodge. When they do a session of therapy realigns them quickly and without pain.

Bowen moves are very gentle, and no spinal manipulation is required. Cathy has also treated me for sciatica which is related to this spinal injury. Bowen Therapy and Pilates exercises now keep me free from sciatica.

Client: AL
Therapist: Cathy Vivian
Ref: 01652-04-10


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have suffered with severe sciatica for the past two years. My GP recommended surgery and drugs. A friend recommended Jo and the Bowen Technique. I have now had three sessions and the relief has been amazing. On a scale of 1 to 10 where 10 is severe, I have improved from 9 to 4. I am hoping that with a few more sessions, I will be well enough not to need any surgery.

I cannot recommend Jo and her technique enough – absolutely amazing results in such a short time.

Client: NH
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01608-02-11


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Having endured four and a half months of sciatic pain and numbness and whilst awaiting an NHS Physio appt, I couldn’t stand the pain any longer and decided to give Bowen a try. I was amazed after just one treatment and by the third treatment the pain and numbness had completely gone. I highly recommend Bowen and would use it again for sure.

Client: ES
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01609-03-11