Testimonials: Shoulder problems

The following testimonial(s) have written consent from the owners. Please contact the therapist (if stated) for more information.


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Chronic shoulder pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping, enjoying days out.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes almost 100%

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Within the first week I experienced dramatic improvement. I had increased movement and greater periods of time pain free. I also feel it has improved my general wellbeing and mood. I feel happier after a Bowen session.

Client: EB
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01664


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Stiffness across shoulders and back of neck, tension and pain, rounding of the upper back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

They prevented full head movement particularly when driving.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, much more flexibility.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I now have more movement across shoulders and much less tension, rounding of the upper back has reduced. Also I am now more comfortable when tilting head backweards.

Client: BS
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01666


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Immobile shoulder, TMJ, limb length difference

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Carrying shopping bags, walking holding my daughter's hand, lifting anything higher than waist, cycling longer distances, exercising in gym or any exercise with heavier load.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

All of above have been resumed and difference is immeasurable.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Quite simply, before Bowen I couldn't do stuff without pain and limitation. Now I can do stuff I used to do freely; I feel about 10 years younger physically; I have more energy; I find it eadier to relax; and I know that if I do get another ache or pain, Bowen will sort it.

Client: SB
Therapist: Mary Macfarlane
Ref: 60383490


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen Shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Doing up my bra at the back , couldn't lift my arm higher than my head , and swimming

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Swimming , reaching up for things of a high shelf , doing my bra up at the back , dancing and excercising can now do all this and no pain .

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

No pain in my arm and shoulder can now go swimming and do lots of things I couldn't do before .

Client: PMC
Therapist:
Ref: 48265419


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

1.Frozen shoulder 2. Displaced kneecap (skiing injury)

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

1. Extremely painful, unable to sleep as pain worsened when lying down. 2. Pain and hobbling gait

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Everything! 1. I had been told by my GP to take painkillers and eventually it would improve but could take two years. I had three Bowen sessions in two weeks and it was cured and has never recurred. 2. I hike strenuously regularly and ski every year & experience no problems with my knee.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was sceptical about the technique but a sensible friend recommended it so I gave it a go. It certainly worked for me and is the treatment I would choose for any joint or tendon problems. I am still skiing and hiking at 62 and would have no hesitation in consulting my local Bowen therapist for any mobility problems or injuries.

Client: CA
Therapist: Beverley Wood
Ref: 44702983


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen Shoulders.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Raising my arms above my head to do hair.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Before having Bowen I was in a great deal of pain in my arms and now I am almost pain free and getting better with every session. I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone suffering pain.

Client: ES
Therapist: Jacky Stevens
Ref: 01542-04-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder and neck pain and arthritis in knee and thumb joint.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I came to see Jacky mainly because of severe pain in left shoulder and neck, but also because of arthritis on my left side, especially in my knee and thumb joint. After 3 treatments my knee is completely better and my neck is only a slight niggly pain and I feel so much better in myself. From the first treatment I felt different and extremely relaxed. I am hoping to keep seeing Jacky once a month.

Client: MT
Therapist: Jacky Stevens
Ref: 01537-04-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Tendonitis in shoulders.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Movement of arms.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

As well as improvement in arms I have experienced general feeling of wellbeing. Also other aches and pains have been helped.

Client: SS
Therapist: Jacky Stevens
Ref: 01535-12-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in upper shoulders and pain going down my left leg. Pain in neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Sleeping pattern a little better when the pain is relieved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I certainly feel that I am standing and walking straighter. My neck is feeling far more comfortable following last treatment. Overall find that Bowen Therapy has had a positive effect on my general well being.

Client: EG
Therapist: Danielle Mitchell
Ref: 01523-05-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Knots in left shoulder which would not go away.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing particularly – just always slight discomfort and would often be increased after running long distances.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

The discomfort has gone, even after undertaking 7-8 mile runs.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The experience really relaxed me and made me make time for myself. I definitely lost the knots in my shoulder and have not suffered from discomfort since having my treatment. I would certainly recommend Bowen treatment to others.

Client: LS
Therapist: Susanne Webb
Ref: 01521-02-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back ache, shoulder problem.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing, after effects were constant pain and poor sleeping patterns

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Shoulder pain almost gone. Generally more relaxed with more energy.

Client: AB
Therapist: Beth Darrall
Ref: 01518-05-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder pain, tendonitis

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Made doing most tasks more difficult, working, driving, lifting things

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, the pain is less, think magnesium has also helped

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I believe I have, it didn’t get rid of the problem, but definitely made the discomfort less, even have days where I don’t feel it. Still having neck pain, that hasn’t gone, but am using the heat lamp to help.

Client: AP
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01515-06-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Constant upper back & shoulder pain/limited movement

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Moving my arms without pain, sleeping without waking up from pain and fully relaxing

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully – I sleep through the night now, can fully relax without pain & am able to raise my arms with no problems

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen is like nothing I have ever tried before (& I have tried a lot). It is the most gentle & yet the most effective treatment I have received. I am not exaggerating when I say I walk out of every session feeling like I have had a body transplant. In addition to this I sleep so much better than I ever have & that in itself has had a major impact on me too.

Client: IW
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01514-03-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve in shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Turning quickly and uncomfortable

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Completely better now

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Hasn’t completely eased my underlying problems with my back and neck. However along with deep tissue massage there has been an improvement and shoulder/nerve issue restored completely.

Client: PW
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01509-02-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder pain and stiffness

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Working on my computer at work, sleeping properly

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes I have, the treatment has given me more mobility

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen treatment has given me relief from pain, has corrected my posture, when you come out you feel straighter and taller, also it makes you feel very relaxed and the exercises you are given are easy and helps continue the treatment you have received. I would definitely recommend Bowen treatment.

Client: KP
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01506-02-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen Shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Certain chores

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Slightly, but advice on certain exercises have loosened up my right shoulder

Client: JC
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01500-02-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain, shoulder pain & pelvis problems.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

General stiffness & pain.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have tried many therapies for my back condition, but I find Bowen therapy helps me the most. I get instant relief and it helps re-align my pelvis which takes away the back pain. I also find that Bowen relaxes me.

Client: YD
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01489-02-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Long term muscular and neural pain in shoulder, made worse by constant flexing

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

I was in constant discomfort which became worse in stressful situations

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I came to Jo after trying many other methods to alleviate the pain in my shoulder. After the first two treatments I felt looser but the pain, tension/flexing returned in stressful situations. On the third treatment Jo worked on the emotional causes of the pain and immediately I felt the link between the stress and the shoulder flexing melt away. It was miraculous. On the occasions it surfaces again I feel I can deal with it myself.

Client: JM
Therapist: Joanne Austin
Ref: 01439-3-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

I had pain in my left shoulder and upper arm muscle

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

It was worst at night when lying down and prevented me from sleeping

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Excellent results following three Bowen treatments. The pain has now gone

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Following the three treatments, I have had no further pain in the shoulder and muscle. I would recommend Bowen for any pain problems and I would certainly have Bowen again, should any other problems arise.

Client: JP
Therapist: Ros Harrington
Ref: 01440-3-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Severe pain and stiffness in left shoulder and neck

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Looking over left shoulder (reversing car). Laying on side in bed, continually in pain from upper body.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

One treatment. Yes, relief from severe pain and free movement of upper body also pain relief from old injury sites

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I feel back to a fitness level that I usually enjoy, pain free and generally happier in myself. Walking about upright

Client: TMB
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01442-1-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Moving my arm

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen helped with the pain and “cured” my frozen shoulder in a shorter time frame than my GP advised if I had taken anti-inflammatories. Treatment was gentle and relaxing.

Client: SW
Therapist: Helen Barnard
Ref: 01447-3-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping, difficulty wash hair, putting clothing over head.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, much improved and less pain

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I cannot quite believe the response I have experienced after just one session, a remarkable improvement. Best of all, I have been able to reduce the quantity of oral pain relief, sleeping has been much better. All round improvement. Great

Client: ME
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01449-4-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Lifting my arms above my head to do work

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

100%

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, would have it again if required.

Client: FB (81)
Therapist: Kate Fullerlove
Ref: 01477-1-15


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Lifting, stretching, ironing, working

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially so far

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Very quickly I regained more movement in the shoulder and the level of pain reduced quite a lot.

Client: PW
Therapist: Maureen Smith
Ref: 01437-12-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen shoulder for 2 Years

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Couldn’t move arm so restricted all activities for 2 years.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully after one “taster” session

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Had previously had 2 injections, (Cortisone), physio (exercises) + remedial with little to no effect. Had a “taster” Bowen at the village “business promotion” event in November 2013. A follow-up treatment was recommended but a year later she is still well without it!

Client: MB (60’s)
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01367-11-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Rotator cuff injury on the left shoulder, neck pain, lower back pain, numbness in fingers.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Trouble walking, reading, drop things, constant pain in back and shoulders

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully on most days

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Back pain is 85 – 90% better, I can now walk most times without my stick, my shoulder pain has gone during the day, but gives me discomfort at night, the feeling in my fingers is mostly back. My neck doesn’t ache so much now whilst reading. The pain in my lower back and facet joint had been there for 12 months prior to Bowen.

Client: VR
Therapist: Jo Wortley
Ref: 01378-5-14


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Rotator cuff in right shoulder pain, stiffness

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Using arm day to day activities

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes providing I don’t overuse arm (i.e. cleaning windows etc., “rotating”)

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Free from pain and can use arm better, providing I don’t “overuse” or carry heavy shopping (as above)

Client: SC
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01332-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Stiff shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Lifting my arm

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Feeling better and moving better, reduction of pain.

Client: MZ
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01330-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Painful shoulders.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Raising my arms above the head and sleeping.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes fully.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

A very relaxing and pleasurable experience which has not only relieved my symptoms but has given me additional exercises to help movement and pain relief.

Client: DEW
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01325-10-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder pain, aching etc. (Right arm)

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

It was annoying, hurt to lift or carry shopping.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Bowen has helped greatly and I can now do most things.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen has helped me to be more relaxed, my shoulder is much, much improved. My pelvis, which was not straight, (right side tilted to the front) is now level. I really did feel the therapy helped my whole body.

Client: JK
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01324-4-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Long term hip, back, and shoulder pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Using right arm actively and walking distances

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I am beginning to walk again with far more confidence about the way my body works / will be. I am also beginning to use my right arm in ways I have not been able to do for over ten years. The major change is about hope rather than acceptance.

Client: JAS
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01326-11-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen shoulder, stiff neck

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Easy living

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have a treatment every month and have found that a lot of small complaints have improved and in some cases completely disappeared.

Client: TB
Therapist: Susan Rook
Ref: 01309-03-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in shoulder and back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Lifting my arm to its full extent.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, fully.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Generally my joints feel much easier than before treatment.

Client: AB
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01278-11-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Stiff shoulder.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing, but was uncomfortable and difficult to sleep

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Regular Bowen therapy keeps me balanced and enables me to recognise when something is not right.  Am now on 2-3 monthly maintenance  and this works very well.  If I become aware of a problem I can arrange an extra treatment and this usually enough to restore balance.  Would recommend Bowen, is not painful and works very well for me.

Client: TH
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01275-11-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Stiff and aching neck and shoulder.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Had trouble lifting my right arm and looking behind me.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Seems to have eased my pains and aches and can now turn my head easier.

Client: JP
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01274-10/13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in shoulder blade / neck pains.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing really. But painful.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Easier to work (Yes)

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, little pains sometimes, but much better.

Client: KB
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01273-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Desk work was painfull

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, the treatment released the tightness and burning

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, with the treatment and advice on exercises and position of key board/chair and posture.

Client: JE
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01272-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in right shoulder blade.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing – just annoying

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My body feels more efficient when playing football, racket ball, running and swimming.  No stiffness experienced the day after playing.

Client: CL
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01269-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back and shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Just aggravated

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes without a problem

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The first time I ever had a Bowen treatment was the first time in years that I didn’t have any aches in my back and shoulder.  Bliss.  Bowen is so un-invasive it is a pleasure to have, unlike massage.  Sometimes it takes a couple of days to fully kick in.  Worth a go, it might work for your too.

Client: LM
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01268-10-13


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Poly Rheumatoid Arthritis, migraines, frozen shoulder.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Still Disease form 12 years old and poly rheumatoid arthritis all my life.  After forth child, completely incapacitated, huge weight loss – bent limbs.  Severe migraines for 7 years.  Have had remissions, but also crippling episodes and frozen shoulder.  Have had many therapies throughout my life – Bowen is amazing.  My atrophy has gone – migraines gone – frozen shoulder gone.  I realise I have a disease, but it is totally under control – I do not take drugs of any sort.  I have a treatment on average once a month to control my symptoms.  “Bowen Rocks”.

Client: BB
Therapist: Sandra harris
Ref:  01258-02-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sharp pain in arm and shoulder waking me at night

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Had first treatment and slept better than for weeks – plus no painkillers – after 2nd treatment slept for unbroken 7 hours – wonderful.  Pain gone – mobility of arm and shoulder back.  Even feel general well-being improved.

Client: JS
Therapist: Enys Evans
Ref: 01254-09-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sharp pain and ache in forearm, elbow and hand.  Pain in shoulder and aching lower back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Using trowel and digging with spade/fork.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully resumed.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Has cured (with one treatment each) gardening related aches and pains in arm, elbow, hand and shoulder.  Is easing (with on-going treatments) lower back pain.

Client: AO
Therapist: Barbara Firman
Ref: 01253-09-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain, shoulder pain, Achilles tendon.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, sleeping, unable to work.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Shoulder and back fully, Achilles ongoing.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have had many alternative treatments, but feel Bowen to be the most beneficial.  My lower back pain has gone, as has my shoulder problems.  Bowen also helps you relax and recharge your body.  Makes me feel great!

Client: DB
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01250-09-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck, right shoulder, lower back and right hip – all due to car crash

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Living a normal life, walking, sitting, sleeping, everyday tasks i.e. ironing, hovering, hanging out washing, etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Waling and sitting are back to normal, the rest have improved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Prior to starting this treatment I was taking so many painkillers that I felt doped up all of the time and I was still in a significant amount of pain.  Now I’ve reduced my medication by 90% and I am almost pain free.  I have no pain in my neck, lower back, right shoulder and right hip most of the time and I feel that I am getting my life back.  If I feel I’m in pain I make another appointment.

Client: DS
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01249-05-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder blade pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Effecting competing my horse, sleep and general relaxation because of pain.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I only required two sessions of Bowen treatment and the pain has fully gone.  I was very  impressed with the treatment and results and have already recommended to friends and family.

Client: GD
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01241-04-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Hot, burning pain in shoulders

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Working and sleeping

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, it’s been fine since.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

A very enjoyable therapy that helped ease the pain, would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Client: RE
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01236-05-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen Shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Lifting, putting on clothes, reaching objects.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes – almost back to full range of movement.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Through the gentleness of Bowen Therapy my shoulder has gradually regained its mobility and the pain associated with a frozen shoulder has almost disappeared. This didn’t happen overnight, but over the course of 9 treatments. The result is that I no longer need surgery – patience and perseverance paid off!

Client: LF
Therapist: Kate Fullerlove
Ref: 01228-06-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder injury

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Stretching right arm fully

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I felt better after treatment.

Client: ME
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01221-06-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve in neck/shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving, lifting, house work, gardening, social events.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Since treatment have been able to do everything prior to the problem.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Felt better after every treatment. Symptoms have now resolved. Back normal.

Client: CT
Therapist: Mary Macfarlane
Ref: 01216-07-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain, tension in shoulders and neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restrictive movement or painful movement especially golfing.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully, able to play 3 or 4 times per week without discomfort.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have been pleasantly surprised at how the non-invasive, gentle and relaxing treatment can produce a great improvement to my physical and mental well-being. I feel more comfortable and relaxed. Tension in my upper back has disappeared.

Client: DM
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01214-05-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck pains / shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing other than a good nights sleep.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

-

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Found the sessions very good, relaxing – calming (fell asleep once I think) No more pains.

Client: AF
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01209-06-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Knees and shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Lifting above head and turning quickly.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Found yours and previous treatments at Cobo useful to get the body back to full working order.

Client: BG
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01206-02-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back and Frozen shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing specific – occasional sharp pain on certain random movements

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

N/A

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, when symptoms start to show I have 1 or 2 sessions which immediately relieve the problem every time.

Client: LD
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01204-02-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder and back ache.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Working to best of my ability.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My headaches have virtually disappeared and my back ache has gone. The shoulder aches and knots are no longer the problem they were. A great improvement and would recommend it to anyone.

Client: HR
Therapist: Merle Davies
Ref: 01200-02-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck and shoulder pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping, turning head.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes – Sleep returned to normal and neck/shoulder pain reduced and mobility improved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The main purpose of seeking treatment was to relieve my painful, stiff neck and shoulder blade. The pain had almost completely gone after a couple of treatments, mobility increased and I had no need for painkillers or heat pads. Incidentally, Bowen therapy also cleared my headaches caused by sinusitis and hs helped reduce the symptoms of PMT. I am really pleased (and surprised) by the results of the Bowen therapy, and have recommended it to others.

Client: AD
Therapist: Kim Holmes
Ref: 01193-04-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Severe aches and pains in shoulders, and stress.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Washing the centre of my back and raising arms above horizontal.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, full movement in shoulders and able to cope with less stress.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

An improvement in general wellbeing, improved sleep, shoulders feel as they did 20 years ago. I am amazed how a gentle, non invasive treatment has improved my health and wellbeing.

Client: MG
Therapist: Rosemary Barber
Ref: 01191-03-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Constant pain in shoulder and hip

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Symptoms made everyday work/home uncomfortable and painful.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Normal day to day work/home life so much easier now.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

From going to a daily pain level of 8/10 on a constant basis to a zero pain level and virtually forgetting that body parts were so sore is the major benefit of my treatment. From the first treatment I could, in a way, feel things relaxing, felt more refreshed and mentally less stressed as day to day work and home life became easier with major drop in pain level.

Client: MD
Therapist: Mary MacFarlane
Ref: 01190-03-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Frozen Shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving, Playing the Guitar, Reaching high shelves

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The immediate relief form pain was welcome and provided an invaluable platform for steady recovering. I also found the minimally intrusive style of treatment extremely relaxing – I feel it helped me to slow down and conserve energy which I’m sure facilitated recovery. A really god experience which I have recommended to others.

Client: PW
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh
Ref: 01183-13-12


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Left Shoulder pain after car crash also back and legs.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Very measurable as national Bowls player, also club-level golfer and all 3 racquet games.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Bowls back to 70%, golf 80%, Racquets no longer on ‘reactive’.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Have 2-3 monthly Bowen sessions for 18 months now, impetus was NHS prescription of 2 chemical painkillers. Without Bowen I may have given up. Now after 15 months PAIN-FREE and 80% strength and finally walking

Client: JH
Therapist: Melanie Morgan-Jones
Ref: 01180-04-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Knee and shoulder pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking without pain and reaching.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Both

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was impressed with the way my therapist assessed my complaints and the treatment was given in a calm, professional way which made me relaxed. I have benefitted so much from the therapy and would recommend anyone to give it a try.

Client: SG
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01173-05-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

I fell and injured my right shoulder.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Housework and more important, playing golf.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I can now do them fully after my Bowen treatment.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have remained calm during my 5 weeks of restriction and appreciate the gradual increase in the range of movement of my right arm. I really enjoyed the treatment and if needed I would definitely use my therapist again. Many thanks.

Client: CP
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01165-08-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

1. Frozen Shoulder – 2. Back Problems

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

1. Anything involving right shoulder movement
2. Most normal activites.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

On both occasions the treatment with appropriate exercises appeared to resolve the problems completely. I have made recommendation to acquaintances who appear to have had equally successful treatments.

Client: DS
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01121-08-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back and shoulder pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Attending classes at the local gym. Continually aching arm etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have improved dramatically since I received the Bowen treatment. I have no pain or symptom. In addition, my mood has improved and I feel much better generally.

Client: RA
Therapist: Freda Hodgson
Ref: 01137-06-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder – constant ache and reduced mobility.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Affected my sailing and golf. Uncomfortable to drive. Carrying shopping form supermarket.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Despite Physiotherapy and anti-inflammatory prescribed by my GP, mobility was reducing and it was constantly aching. Since Bowen treatment, I have no pain in the shoulder and flexibility in the shoulder has returned. It is wonderful to be able to play golf and do simple tasks without that constant ache.

Client: JW
Therapist: Catherine Skelton
Ref: 01127-5-11


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain down the left side of my shoulder and across my shoulders.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

The pain severely limited rotational movement of my head.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

One treatment by the therapist has restored the full side-to-side rotation of my head – with NO pain – after years of painful and very limited movement. Four months after treatment, I still have normal pain-free movement. I would happily turn to Bowen for any other such problems.

Client: LB
Therapist: Christine Cahalin
Ref: 01144-04-11


I was recommended Bowen treatment for my second frozen shoulder (my first I had been told would now not recover). The results became apparent after my third treatment; I no longer needed pain killers.

After further treatments I regained use of my shoulder/arm and also regained use of my first frozen shoulder that my consultant & physio said was beyond repair. After prolonged pain and suffering of frozen shoulder I declare my Bowen therapy nothing less [than] a miraculous cure!

Client: CL
Therapist: Jen Walker
Ref: 01023, Feb 2011


Still Disease from 12 months old. Polyrheumatoid Arthritis all my life. After fouth child completly incapacitated. Huge weight loss – bent limbs. Severe migraines from 7 years. Have had remissions but also crippling episodes. Frozen shoulder – had never heard of it – looked up on internet – saw connection to Bowen. Had never heard of Bowen. Have had many therapies throughout my life – Bowen is amazing.

My atrophy has gone – migraines gone – frozen shoulder gone.

I realize I have a disease but it is totally under control – I do not take drugs of any sort. I have a treatment on average once a month to control my symptoms. Bowen rocks.

Client: BB
Therapist: Sandra Harris
Ref: 01054, Feb 2011


I generally have a lot of tension in my upper back and shoulders, but when one shoulder became extremely painful and stiff recently I had a Bowen treatment. After just one treatment, the pain was greatly alleviated and I regained almost full movement. I also felt extremely relaxed afterwards. I felt even better following the second treatment! I felt virtually no pain or tension in my back or shoulders and I felt balanced and aligned overall. Following my recent third treatment, the pain is now completely gone and I feel my general posture has improved. Bowen therapy has proved to be a very positive and beneficial experience for me and as a result I will now be having regular 'maintenance' treatments.

Client: MG
Therapist: Norman Ogden
Ref: 01105-02-11


I have long standing painful frozen shoulder and no success with physiotherapy. I am hoping to avoid surgery and a friend suggested Bowen therapy with Samantha Roze. My first consultation was in her new clinic building adjacent to her home. I was delighted that she made careful notes and was kind and caring. I have received seven Bowen treatments (once a week) all of which have been very gentle. The pain reduced further after every visit and in addition after each session I felt really good and "on top of the world". I am now to see Sam just monthly and have my fingers crossed for the future.

Client: JC
Therapist: Samantha Roze
Ref: 01106-02-11


I suffer from persistent chronic pain in my right shoulder and arm which would wake me from sleep. My GP prescribed anti-inflammatory drugs which had little effect and the pain continued for many months. Although somewhat sceptical before treatment, I found the Bowen sessions very relaxing and have been very pleased with the results. Nikki’s thorough medical assessment identified the root cause and her careful explanation of the Bowen moves allayed my anxiety. The first session was immediately effective, by significantly reducing the symptoms. After correcting my posture and work tasks and receiving the second session, the pain completely disappeared.

Client: RC
Therapist: Nikki Wilmot
Ref: 01107-02-11


I had put up with the pain in my shoulder and inability to raise my left arm for a while and considered different types of therapy. Bowen treatment was very non-invasive and easy for me as the patient. It completely cleared the problem in a few visits and I have had no recurrence of the problem.

Client: SB
Therapist: Yatro Mackay
Ref: 01108-02-11


Broken shoulder, torn biceps muscle

About 10 years ago I slipped and broke my left shoulder, tearing the biceps in the process. I had physiotherapy at the hospital which was successful up to a point. But I still had limited movement in my arm and very often my shoulder would ache quite badly. I put up with this for a very long time until a friend of mine suggested Bowen Therapy. Thank goodness I took her advice.

I began seeing Penny on a regular basis. It made a great deal of difference to the mobility of my shoulder and I continue to see Penny for treatment for other issues when I feel the need.

Client: A
Therapist: Penny Gibbings
Ref: 00430, Feb. 2011


Neck and shoulder problems

I had suffered with neck and shoulder problems for a year or so after a fall, this was exacerbated recently subsequent to my sitting immobile for a long period whilst undergoing a stem cell donation procedure. Recommended by my son in law, I underwent a series of Bowen treatments by Penny Gibbings. In total I had five sessions and after a noticeable improvement from the first session my symptoms then gradually further improved. I now have significantly more and pain free movement in both neck and shoulder. This has helped me generally day to day and certainly when driving.

Client: RW
Therapist: Penny Gibbings
Ref: 00436, Feb. 2011


Pain and limited mobility

I had long standing pain and limited mobility in my right shoulder and neck, which had just been worsened by pulling the muscle in this area. Although I had had the long term pain and frustration with limited mobility and postural alignment during my yoga practice, it was the increased discomfort that led me to seek treatment. After the first treatment I had greater mobility and the pain returned to its usual level. After the next two treatments I noticed much more mobility and a positive change in my posture. I found that this continued to improve after the treatment.

Client: LA
Therapist: Yatro MacKay
Ref: 00448, Feb. 2011


Shoulder pain, heel pain and tennis elbow

I first went to see a Bowen therapist after having persistent shoulder pain for about six months. After just 2 sessions I found that the pain had decreased significantly and I have had no further problems with my shoulder. Since this time I have been treated by Claire on several occasions with problems with tennis elbow and with my heel. I have found that the treatment has been successful each time.

Client: NS
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 00452, Feb. 2011


I have longstanding injuries to my ankles and right shoulder dating back 25 years. I have had may therapies over the years, including osteopathy, cranial osteopathy, chiropractic treatment, physio therapy and acupuncture. I am well aware that no treatments can “cure” me, but I have suffered debilitating pain in walking with many other areas of pain all caused by compensating for the damaged ankles and right shoulder. After 3 visits for Bowen Therapy I felt much more energy, felt better comfort in my body and feel I can walk better with less pain.

Client: Dr. SF
Therapist: Carol Hough
Ref: 01001, Feb 2011


I have received Bowen Therapy for a number of different issues, the most recent of which was regarding a specific problem I’d developed in my right shoulder. For about 6 months I’d been experiencing sharp pain, an unusual clicking (which could also be painful) and a slight reduced range of motion in my arm. I attended for Bowen Therapy and following only one session the pain eases, the range of motion improved and within a few days of the therapy the clicking stopped completely. The session occurred around Oct. ’10 and now Feb ’11, I’ve had no further problems with the shoulder.

Client: CH
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin
Ref: 01024, Feb 2011


Frozen Shoulder

Before treatment I had steroid injections to relieve the pain. These were successful but my doctor wouldn’t allow me to have any more injections.

Still in pain with my right shoulder I seeked help with Bowen treatment that had also been successful for one of my relatives.

I found the treatment to be very comfortable and relaxing.

To my amazement after having just four weekly sessions, the pain has gone. It has not returned and am now enjoying life to the full again and looking forward to getting back to gardening. Thank you.

Client: HL
Therapist: Rosemary Cunningham
Ref: 00440, Feb 2011


I had tried several therapies for my frozen shoulder without success. Some of the therapies were very painful to receive. The shoulder pain was affecting my sleep and movement was severely restricted. Bowen Therapy was not a 'quick fix' but there was gradual improvement and the shoulder is now 95% better.

I find Bowen sessions to be very relaxing, refreshing and rewarding. I continue to have regular Bowen Therapy because it is gentle and I find it very fulfilling, and also because it fits so perfectly with my own approach to life.

Client: PS
Therapist: Patricia Bryden
Ref: 00447, Feb 2011


I would like to tell you about how the Bowen Technique has helped me with my shoulder. I injured my shoulder back in August 2004 and didn’t really do anything about it. Then I had some reflexology and massage but it got worse and became a “Frozen Shoulder”. I was told about this Bowen Technique and thought I would give it a try as I was in so much pain.

After a couple of treatments my arm became easier to move. I have been about 6 times now and almost all the movements in my shoulder are now pain free. To say that I am thrilled is an understatement. I would recommend this to anyone who is in pain.

Client: Mrs EH
Therapist: Rosemary Cunningham
Ref: 00441, Feb 2011


I began to experience stiffness in my left shoulder which within a short period of time (3 to 4 weeks) had progressed to totally limiting my left arm movement and severe pain, which was particularly bad at night. I could not put my arm behind me or raise it to any extent. In addition I could not sleep as the pain was so bad at night.

I went to my GP who diagnosed a Frozen Shoulder. He prescribed strong pain killers to help me sleep and referred me to a physiotherapist for both assessment and treatment. She told me that unfortunately with this condition it would take a while to recover, up to 3 years in some cases. After several weeks there appeared to be no improvement and I was asked to consider a cortisone injection. Although reluctant I decided to have the injection as the lack of sleep was very draining and was affecting both my home and work life.

I had the injection at 10am on a Friday, a surprisingly painless experience and for the rest of the day I felt great; no pain although movement was still restricted. On Saturday the pain returned and remained. The injection had provided me with relief for barely one day. I was then seen by a pain specialist who asked me to consider 'manipulation under general anaesthetic'. I was reluctant but again felt I needed to try any possible solution. I agreed and was told there was a 3 months waiting list.

I mentioned my symptoms to the Winners 2000 in Torquay, as I was limited to the exercises I could do in the gym. They suggested that Austin Burn-Jones who practiced Bowen technique may be able to help. I made an initial appointment and then followed a session of treatments.

6 months on I have full functionality of my left arm, but most important to me was the pain cessation which gradually ceased over a 2 month period. Initially I received Bowen treatment from Austin, and then he later gave me exercises to undertake. Needless to say I cancelled my operation as it was very apparent to me that the Bowen Technique was working.

Client: Mrs H
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones
Ref: 00405, Feb 2011


Frozen Shoulder, RSI

As a person with Type 1 diabetes, I am unfortunately prone to getting frozen shoulders, which are painful, and very incapacitating. When I injured my right shoulder last year, it rapidly developed into the fully frozen stage, with pain at night which interfered with sleep, as well as making it impossible for me to use a computer or carry bags.

Having seen a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon who specialises in shoulders with a previous episode, I knew that the average recovery time would be at least 18 months, unless I could find a complementary treatment which would speed up the recovery process. I have been very impressed with a course of Bowen treatments, supplemented by exercises to perform at home, which resulted in enough mobility within four months to enable me to drive a left hand drive car on an extended road trip, as well as giving me sufficient movement to perform all the activities I would normally do as part of my working day. Bowen has also been helpful to me in posture adjustment and helped with a repetitive strain injury, caused by typing whilst my shoulder was still frozen.

I think patients new to Bowen will also be pleased with a practitioner's commitment to only offer sessions at the frequency with which they are really required, and only if they are causing improvement.

Client: Dr. R
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones
Ref: 00406, Feb 2011


Lower Back Pain, Frozen shoulder

As Bowen has cured 25 years of Back Pain and subsequently dealt with a Frozen Shoulder, it is high time I said “thank you”.

I have to confess that when I first came to see Austin I was sceptical. The Back Pain, from playing cricket and rugby as a young man, was something others had tried to cure and that I had grown accustomed to.

The process of analysis Austin took me through surprised me, as he successfully diagnosed the seat of former sports injuries, just by looking at my posture and movement.

The process of manipulation and subsequent cure was much gentler than I had expected, although at each session I felt very aware that my body had changed.

The process of discovering that cure had happened was both pleasant and surprising. Firstly my golf improved and some weeks after having Bowen Therapy it slowly dawned on me that I had no pain. I still have no pain some two years after back manipulation, and 6 months after treatment for Frozen Shoulder.

I have also recommended Austin to my friends, family, clients and colleagues. He has surprised them just as pleasantly and successfully.

Client: Mr P
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones
Ref: 00407, Feb 2011


I am a fifty-eight year old female who had been suffering with a frozen shoulder for approximately two years. I had attended physiotherapy, hydrotherapy and had seen an osteopath with little or no relief.

After only two Bowen treatments there was a definite improvement – when first attending I could not raise my arm more than thirty degrees, now it goes almost straight up.

The Bowen treatment has improved all my body/joints and I now attend for regular ‘top-up’ sessions.

I have recommended Bowen therapy to family and friends and those who have attended have all received relief from their problems.


I am a woman in my early forties and decided to try Bowen therapy to see if it could relieve me of a severe constant pain within my left shoulder blade. The symptoms were deteriorating, as the pain would wake me whilst I was sleeping. It had begun with a small twinge, but I found that I could not lift my left arm as high as normal, nor reach behind me, as I had been able to do in the past, as my shoulder seemed to freeze/lock. I did not know what Bowen therapy was going to be like but decided to give it a try.

During my first session I realised just how tense my entire body was due to my hectic lifestyle and it was very difficult to lie still and totally relax during the treatment. However, I did feel a change not only in my shoulder but throughout my body and during the following week I felt a variety of sensations, such as tingling or a sudden feeling of warmth, but the most dramatic effect was how relaxed and calm I was, which many people commented on.

In my next two sessions I relaxed more and more, in fact falling asleep during the treatment, much my amazement. The pain began to subside and my shoulder mobility improved. I continued with weekly session for a short while and now attend for monthly top-ups as the symptoms have by and large cleared. Occasionally, I feel a twinge within my shoulder but then it clears and I attribute this to my body being ‘Bowen aware’ and knowing how to correct the problem. I also use the top-up appointment for any other problem I may have experienced in that month. For example, on one occasion I had a problem with my sciatic nerve, which was dealt with in the session and the pain disappeared.

I have an absolutely wonderful therapist in Sandie and now consider her as a dear friend. She is a wonderful listener with a warm and kind nature. As a patient it means such a lot to be made to feel you are cared for and Sandie definitely does care for you as an individual. Her professional, caring nature, combined with the marvellous Bowen technique is an absolute saviour to me and I do believe that had I not found out about Bowen therapy I would now be suffering from a frozen shoulder and be dealing with the pain and mobility restrictions this problem inflicts.

Thank you Bowen and Sandie!


I went to see Catherine Ford in the hope that the Bowen Technique could help alleviate the pain and stiffness in my shoulders caused by years of arthritis. I had read that Bowen was very effective for treating “frozen shoulder” so thought it was worth trying. I had also been feeling very “muddle-headed” and struggled to concentrate and remember things.

After only a few treatments with Catherine, my shoulders regained their full range of movement for the first time in years and they were no longer painful and stiff. And my “fuggy head” disappeared, my concentration improved dramatically and I no longer felt tired and sluggish.

Catherine is an excellent practitioner who inspires confidence in her patients. And Bowen is an amazing technique which has worked wonders for me.

Client: SH
Therapist: Catherine Ford
Ref: 01022, May 2010


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Having muscles that had been weakened by months of inactivity before and following bowel cancer, inadvertently led to my old back problem reoccurring. The frozen shoulder, with total restriction, caused by simply reaching for something in the back of the car, just created further mobility problems.

Finding Bowen turned out to be a revelation and I have no doubt the Bowen treatment shortened the muscle recovery time (which I had been told could be up to 2 years) massively. Sleeping is now better and I find I can lie in any position without any discomfort, a vast improvement on previously.

Muscle strength has now virtually returned allowing swimming and gardening activities to be resumed. In fact it is hard now to remember ever having a frozen shoulder, never mind a bad back.

Client: DP
Therapist: Michael Watson
Ref: 01611-01-11


Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

This technique was unknown to me. A friend of mine whose son had fallen off a roof had received Bowen Therapy and was totally without pain after the first session. I had been suffering a frozen shoulder at the time and she suggested I make an appointment with Hilary. The pain was so severe that I was prepared to try anything! Previously my doctor had prescribed painkillers and suggested I make an appointment with a physiotherapist – privately as there was a 4 month waiting list at the local hospital. I went for Bowen Therapy and after two sessions the pain had gone. It was an amazing experience as I felt “something” was happening to by body with gentle “hands on”. After my session, I had my first full night’s sleep in months.

Client: IB
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin
Ref: 01658-02-11